Roll with it

I had a status update meeting today with two key members of the Minnesota National Guard Public Affairs Office and the funding foundation’s President and a member of the communications staff. It was nice to be able to tell them about the progress we’ve made in: booking travel, preparing paperwork and making connections. We also batted around some content ideas which I will get into in later posts.

Moments after I informed the four people sitting around the conference table about my itinerary and travel plans I received an e-mail on my phone from Ariana Airlines informing me of another change in flight status. My lay-over in Dubai has now been shortened by five hours which is good, and bad, I guess. The original ten hour layover would have allowed me to check into a hotel for a few hours to get some sleep. Now that the layover is five hours it doesn’t seem like I’ll have ample opportunity for that much sought-after horizontal sleep. My flight out of Dubai is now scheduled for 1am, landing in Kandahar at 3:45am.

I am paying some extra special attention to the fine print, for some of it whether it is on Military documentation, or in this case airline disclaimers, is equal parts alarming and humorous. I don’t know where the fine print from Ariana Air comes in but it is as follows:

“Ariana Intl Travels shall not be responsible for any injuries, damages or losses caused to any traveler in connection with terrorist activities, social or labour unrest, mechanical or construction failures or difficulties, diseases, local laws, climate conditions, criminal or abnormal conditions or developments, or any other actions, omissions, or conditions outside of Ariana Intl travel control.”

The saga continues. In the end, I’ll get there, I just need to roll with it.

