WWII Posters at the Minneapolis Library

As a producer for Twin Cities Public Television I have to admit that I have a pretty cool job.  Not only do I get to cover stories like the Minnesota National Guard’s mission in Afghanistan but I get to work with a number of great not-for-profit organizations in the Twin Cities and help them tell their stories.

At the same time that I was wrapping up production on Bridging War & Hope I was also putting the finishing touches on Treasures Collected, Treasures Shared.  Treasures Collected was done in collaboration with the Hennepin County Library.  Their downtown Minneapolis branch houses a special collection.  The special collection is vast.  For the purpose of this blog, because I think there may be some military historians amongst the regular readers, I’m going to point out the Library’s collection of WWII-era war posters.

Here are a couple examples.

Posters of World War II includes posters from the Kittleson Collection published from approximately 1939 to 1945. The posters illustrate a variety of themes including patriotism, recruitment, vigilance, conservation of resources, and the value of doing one’s job well. Reproductions of most posters can be ordered online.

My colleague Andi McDaniel produced a short video in which the head of the Special Collection, Ted Hathaway talks about the type of posters they house.  Check it out.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/49325476″>Flashback: WWII Propaganda Posters</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/hclib”>hclib</a&gt; on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

If you’re a WWII historian, or someone who simply likes to look at the design styles of the 40s check out the Special Collection and pour through the thousands of images of war posters they have.

