…and…I guess it is done.

The creative elements of Bridging War & Hope were wrapped up a few weeks ago.  The day after I finished it I started a two-week vacation.  I’m still on that vacation, but wanted to get this post out there.  Today, the documentary will be closed-captioned, ingested and cued up in tpt’s broadcast server well in advance of its October 21st air date.

That's Nate

My view from audio

 

On the final day of creative work I found myself sitting behind an engineer.  This happens a lot during the post-production schedule.  I should be used to this, but for this program it hit home.  Unlike other projects with this one I totally immersed myself in the topic.  Planning, tickets, traveling, embedding, body armor, interviews, editing, refining, watching, re-watching, sweetening, captioning…it’s done.  Wow, now what?

BTW, if you want to check out the planning process this blog is all-inclusive.  Dating back to the day the show was green-lit, to me sending my passport off to Washington, DC in order to get a VISA, to saying good-bye to my family…if you drill back through the pages you’ll be able to read a whole lot of what traveling to Afghanistan to embed with an Army unit is like.  This link will take you to the first page of the blog.  (The oldest posts are at the bottom of each page)

This morning I had a brief instant message session with 1LT Fischer.  Davin, was my guide through Afghanistan.  He was there to answer my planning questions, provide advice, he lined everything up for me, got to know him well.  The essence of his off-the-cuff comments were “Show’s done, and what, I now don’t exist?” Far from the truth.  Though we’re not exchanging nearly as many messages as we did before and immediately after the embed it’s impossible for me not to count down the days along with them.

The Zabul ADT are wrapping things up in their little corner of Afghanistan.  A new unit from Arkansas is heading in.  Awards are being handed out.  Facebook is abuzz with photos and banter about coming home.  As the calendar hits September the 22 soldiers from Minnesota and 36 from Mississippi will know this is the last first-of-the-month they’ll experience in Afghanistan, away from their family and friends.  The same holds true for their family and friends.  Dad, mom, auntie, uncle, grandpa, husband, wife, friend…they’re all coming home soon.  I plan to be at the Armory to help welcome them home and will share that information as it becomes available.

This blog is not quite done.  During the next few weeks you’ll be able to see photos of the homecoming celebration at the Armory near St. Paul and I’ll begin rolling clips from the show out for you all.  Sneak peaks.  You’ve trudged through thousands of my words; it’s about time I reward you for your patience and support.