Alec Baldwin, Morgan Freeman, Luke Heikkila…one of these things is not like the others

It’s been an exciting couple of weeks.  Today marks the 5th of 6 on-line edit days I have scheduled to finish Bridging War & Hope.  It’s a relief to see the documentary get this far.  In on-line edit the story is tightened in places and allowed to breath in other places.

As I type we’re deciding when and where to add in a brief music track.  “How much is too much?”  A lot of the decisions Jerry and I make are based on nothing but experienced hunches.  We’re not performing surgery, much of what we decide is purely subjective.  “Too soon.”  “Not quite right”.  “Got it”.  “You okay with that?”  “Genius, Jerry”  “That’s 12 seconds saved”.  There are hundreds of both right and wrong ways to do this; the goal is to more-often fall on the right side.

The narrator you’ll hear is me.  I’m no Morgan Freeman.   Spending 90 minutes in a recording booth provided an exercise that took me out of my comfort zone.  I’m still getting used to hearing my voice as it gets married to the video, but it fits.  My hope is that having me voice the doc will add to a the personal nature of this story.  By ‘personal’ I don’t mean me.  I mean the personal way I’m telling the story of the Agribusiness Development Team in Zabul. The camera work feels personal.  The interviews feel personal.  Voicing it with someone who wasn’t there would create distance.  Nothing about this piece is distant.  It’s all right there in front of you.

One of the lines of narration reads:

Traveling lightly with a couple of small cameras and the aide of the Minnesota National Guard I spent two weeks embedded with the Unit to experience their mission in Zabul.

This line sets up the premise that I’m the guy behind-the-camera, I’m the narrator, this is what I saw.  This is what I want you to see.

Jerry continues trimming sound bites to get the show in at 26:40 (a tpt half-hour).  After a few more days and Bridging War & Hope will be done.  It’ll be both bitter and sweet.  More on that later.

Thanks for reading.

